Sticks and stones.

May break my break my bones but words will never hurt me.  The pen is mightier than the sword.  So which is it?  Do words have power or don’t they?  Should an author type a word, that fits beautifully with a character?  Or should they be responsible and censor themselves so they don’t hurt anyone?

When is it okay to say, what ever word?

For me personally, the F word, not rhymes with duck, is a biggy.  It’s like nails on a chalk board and I refuse to listen to music with that word in it.  I hope I’m not unique in this.  The word maybe different but there are certain ones that just bother the lizard part of your brain.

But, I’m a hypocrite.  If it appears in a truly amazing book, I’ll keep reading.  In Andrea Speed’s Infected series, Roan, is called it on several occasions.  Not only is he gay but he is also a feline shifter.  Kitty F*g.  It bothers me but I can see his strength of character and his humor in how he deals with it.

I don’t know how many female protagonists have been called B!tch and that doesn’t bother me either.  Maybe it’s because I’m male?  I don’t know.

So, when is it okay to use words that someone will be offended by?  To make a point?  To show a characters isolation?  Isn’t there a hundred other ways to do that?  You have roughly 80,000 words to show their isolation or make your point.

I guess it’s just something I have been thinking about a lot more lately.  I worked at a gas station and if you want to be called names you have never had the opportunity to be called before, work at a gas station.  Customers will not hold back.

I’ve been called: F*g, bitch, asshole, (all the standard ones) and Honkie.

I actually thanked the gentleman who called me that.  It was new, in my twenty almost one years of life no one has ever called me a honkie.  Cracker, sure, but cracker always struck me as odd/pitiful.  The only thing I can think of that would be less offensive is Chip.  Crackers are delicious and insanely useful in cooking.

N***** just means ignorant.  That can never be taken in a good way.

And I have seen authors use it too.  Their eyes were watching god.  That book they make you read in high school with the surprisingly crappy Halle Berry movie.

They read and show the movie in school, yet sex is hidden and made something OTHER.  I don’t get it.

So when is it okay for you to use these words?  I haven’t the foggiest.  Honestly.  And you could say that you aren’t using it, your characters are, but that’s a cop out.  You created your imaginary friends and you gave them the personality and place to use the words.

Words have power and I am personally going to try very hard to remember that.  If I have a character, who for some reason, uses whatever word, it will be for a better reason than quickly showing isolation or strength.

Though at the same token, if my imaginary friends (Like myself) cuss like a sailor, I won’t stop them.  Fu(kin $#!+, I hope that made some d@mn sense.

And peace on earth.

Leave a Reply

