The problem with Tiny Hats.

When I’m stressed I have some slightly problematic ways of dealing with it.  Shopping. Eating. Smoking.  Sometimes all three at once.  What’s strange to me, is that all of my ways of dealing with stress are like depression medication.  May cause more of the thing it’s supposed to help.

I love to shop, except for shoes.  Boots are a different matter entirely.  Luckily (annoyingly) they do not make cute men’s boots that are easily accessible to consumers.  I just spent eighty dollars on Tiny Hat Stuff, or THS.  For some reason I can’t seem to grasp no matter how much introspection I do, making Tiny Hats is very stress relieving to me.  Top hats are my favorite.

To make Tiny Hats doesn’t even take that much fabric, a 1/4 of a yard of fabric that will go outside, a 1/4 yard of canvas to build the base, some thread and a needle.  Of course if you want to get fancy, which I feel is a must, you need buttons, studs and ribbon.  Still though, eighty dollars is kind of insane.

Also, eating while trying to hand sew is not really possible or sanitary.  Cheetos are evil!  I actually have a friend I do nothing with but eat.  When I’m stressed I call her, when she’s stressed she calls me.  We enable each other.  I know several people who suffer from this.  Do any of you have any tips?

Because when I’m not eating I smoke.  I’ve been trying to quit for over a year and I’m down from three packs a day, but I’m still not done.

The worst part of all of this is that I am a student, I need my money to do other things, like to pay for school.

Any advice or “hey, man, I feel you.” ‘s are awesome.

You are beautiful and brilliant.  And hopefully better at dealing than me.

Song I’m stuck on.

Thrift Shop- Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Leave a Reply

